30 Days of Indie Travel- Day 29…ONE WORD

BootsnAll says: What does travel mean to you in one word?

For me, travel is a hunger. Time spent not travelling is stalked by a lingering ache that I can’t quite put my finger on. That niggling, nagging hunger when you don’t know which food would satisfy you. The aimless stroll through the supermarket, scanning the food shelves with unseeing eyes.

I aim to always be looking forward to a trip, even if it’s a day trip somewhere else in Ireland. Like writing, I couldn’t stop travelling if I tried. It’s innate, intrinsic to me. It’s a large part of who I am. I’m hungry to see all there is to see, experience new and exciting things, learn new languages and customs, meet new people. I crave adventure, whether that be running for shelter in a Parisian lightning storm with my whole family in tow or walking alone through an unfamiliar Austrian village.

The world is a big place. I’m not going to see it all. But I’m not going to keep a folder of “one day”s either, I’m going to do them now.

Carcassonne, France

Posted on November 30, 2011, in TRAVEL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I totally get what you mean on the “hunger.” I actually called mine an addiction…same idea I guess:)

    • Sarah (WannabeBallerina)

      Addiction’s good too, it certainly is for me. I actually made a joke this week about moving from short trips to longer ones as being “like going from pot to cocaine”. There’ll be an intervention any day now!

      Thanks for checking out my blog.

  2. Your style is so unique compared to many other people. Thank you for publishing when you have the opportunity,Guess I will just make this bookmarked.2

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

