30 Days of Indie Travel- Day 1…GOALS

I’m taking part in BootsnAll’s 30-day blogging challenge because I think it’s a good idea to get people talking about their travelling experiences and I’ve recently been bitten by the travel bug in a big way so I pretty much inhale any travel-related stuff these days.

Day 1 asks what our travel goals were for this and last year and if we acheived them.

My goal for 2010 was to get out of Ireland for a while and push myself out of my comfort zone. I had never been to America so I decided to set up base there on a working holiday. I lived in San Diego, California for 3 months and then spent another 6 weeks travelling around California, Nevada, Arizona and New York.

Taking that plunge was the best thing I ever did because I discovered my love of travelling. I love everything about it. I think I’m the only person in the world who doesn’t hate airports. While I would rather be somewhere else, I love the journey as well as the destination. You never know if the moment that stays with you long after you’re back home might take place at an airport.

The above picture of a Greyhound bus probably strikes fear into the heart of the average American. For me though, it represents travel. Exciting, arduous travel to new places. Places that might have the most beautiful cityscape you’ve ever seen or somewhere where you really have to search to find the beauty. (Barstow, I’m looking at you.) I don’t care. I love it all.

Once I had achieved my 2010 goal my 2011 goals became future certainties rather than outlandish dreams. I moved to Edinburgh, Scotland for two months and worked at one of the biggest comedy and theatre festivals in the world. I dipped a toe into the Middle East and came face to face with one of the new Wonders of the World- Petra, in the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan.

Going somewhere most people would not consider for a holiday proved to be a great decision and gave me the confidence to go further afield in 2012,  when I will hopefully foray into Russia and Eastern Europe.

While the phrase “bitten by the travel bug” is a cliché, it’s only when it overtakes you that you realise what an accurate description it is. If you have the travel bug, you think about it and organise things in your life around travelling. This desire can never be sated because there will always be somewhere you haven’t been. And I love it. Bring it on.

First view of the Treasury, Petra

Posted on November 1, 2011, in TRAVEL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

    • wannabeballerina

      You’ll love it. Jordan has so many amazing places to go for such a small country. Make sure you go to Little Petra too. Feel free to ask if you have any questions. I only went in September so it’s all very fresh in my mind. I’ll be writing a trip report for it soon.

  1. Pingback: Travel Blogging. « The ins and outs of journalism class

  2. Pingback: Travel Blogging. « erincaughey

Leave a Reply

