30 Days of Indie Travel- Day 16…BAGGAGE

BootsnAll says: Mental baggage can weigh us down as much as physical baggage when we travel. How do you travel lightly – either emotionally or physically?

I’ve had many issues with baggage on my travels. Over-packing, picking the wrong type of luggage, physical altercations with my bags. In one memorable episode, I was running across the Vegas strip when the stick handle on my wheelie case snapped and sliced my arm open with the jagged remains. I belong to that small, elite group of people who have managed to severely injure themselves with a bag.

All these mistakes, they serve as learning experiences. I now have packing down to a fine art. I pack very little, as anyone who travels regularly knows that you can just about half what you initially think is necessary to pack because you’re not going to use it.

Packing lightly means you have less to worry about and less to lug about with you while you should be exploring. I go travelling to see things and be mobile, not to work on my strength training while heaving giant suitcases up hills and stairs.

Free yourself from the bags and never look back! Also, never let your guard down around these bad boys (below). Danger lurks in the most unlikely of places. πŸ˜‰

Now if only I could get over my “packing procrastination”, a terrible condition which renders me physically incapable of packing until the night before a flight.

Posted on November 16, 2011, in TRAVEL and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

