30 Days of Indie Travel- Day 18…BUDGET

BootsnAll says: Every traveler has a budget; for some it just might be higher of lower than for others.What’s your style? What do you spend very little on and what are you always willing to pay more for?

I try to stick to a budget when I’m travelling because it’s so easy to lose the run of yourself in the excitement of exploring new places.

I go for very low-end, low-price accommodation. Usually hostels are my stalking grounds. The way I see it, I’ll spend very little time in my accommodation and really only need it to have a bed, a shower and be safe and secure. The great thing about hostels is that they have really come into their own in recent years. Some private rooms in hostels are comparable to hotels. Stay, in Los Angeles (where I had the pleasure of staying) being a good example of this.

Stay Hostel

Food is something else I definitely skimp on. While I do consider myself to be a bit of a foodie, I avoid fancy-pants restaurants when travelling to keep costs down. I prefer to roam the streets and sample some of the local delicacies, which are inevitably pretty cheap. This practise has been rewarded in my experience, with a  recent example of some delicious Mansaf in Amman, Jordan for 1.75 dinars (less than 2 euro). Or in Chinatown, San Francisco, where I got 4 courses of the best Chinese food I’ve ever had for 8 dollars.

I work in a souvenir shop at home so when it comes to buying souvenirs abroad, it feels like work and I have what could almost be described as an aversion to it. I buy very little unless something catches my eye.

By this stage, you’re probably thinking “Do you spend ANY money when you’re travelling?”. To this I can answer a gleeful “Yes”. All the money I save by living modestly goes on experiences, tours or activities that I think look fun. Sky-diving in Chula Vista, the Grand Canyon in Arizona, Alcatraz in San Francisco, Petra in Jordan. These are the things I am willing to spend money on because I think they’re worth it.

I am aware that other people love holidays where they spend the majority of the time shopping or partying but that’s not my style. To each their own. I think the only important thing about people’s budgets is that they’re aware of them, whether they’re big or small and regardless of what they’ll be spent on.

Posted on November 18, 2011, in TRAVEL and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. i wrote a post on this, too. And we actually share the same thoughts on food and accommodation. 🙂

    By the way, I like that you have a post for each day of the Indie Travel Project. One good thing about traveling is that we get to accumulate stories of adventure that we share and reminisce about.

Leave a Reply

