ice ice, Baby…

I’m a sucker for gingerbread houses. I love them. I had never been brave enough to attempt assembling one of them. They always seemed to be outside that realm of possibilities.

To be honest, I still amn’t brave enough. I bought a cop-out kit. Essentially a 3D edible jigsaw that you ice.

It was fun and put me in a Christmassy mood, which is hard to do as I am the love-child of Ebenezer Scrooge and Cruella De Vil when it comes to this time of year. Construction went well. The foundations were solid and I fell certain my house will be able to withstand some minor earthquakes, along with the tremors as I bound around the kitchen.

Icing the thing was my downfall, which I didn’t anticipate. It’s fun for like 10 seconds, and then you lose the will to live. There’s so much gingerbread in the world and icing is so uncooperative. It just wasn’t to be.

It didn't help that I recently read "The Snowman" by Jo Nesbo and my snowman looked particularly sinister...

Merry Christmas!

 

Posted on December 22, 2011, in FOOD and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

