Do you love where you’re from?

It’s normal to take the place we live for granted every now and again. I often find myself staring blankly at tourists when I see them excitedly taking photos of what, to me, is pretty mundane stuff. You’re taking 10 pictures of that shop-front? Okay…

It’s nice to see your hometown through fresh eyes sometimes. To see the beauty you’ve become desensitised to. I’m lucky in that I’ve always thought of my home (Galway, in Ireland) as beautiful. I don’t take the time to appreciate it enough, though.

That’s going to change. I went to the beach near my house today and even though I’ve been there hundreds of times, I stood and looked around as if seeing it for the first time. Taking it all in, not just physically being there.

Be a tourist in your hometown for once, you never know what you might stumble across or “see” for the first time.

Galway Bay

Posted on March 28, 2012, in TRAVEL and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Wonderfully written and expressed πŸ™‚ I haven’t been to Ireland yet, but I would visit it sometime in the future when I begin my journey again πŸ™‚ Comy by my blog site http://musewithcoffee.wordpress.com I love travelling to new places and also write poetry to express the experiencs of my life πŸ™‚

  2. Wow. Gorgeous views to be surrounded with! I can’t imagine getting to wake up to that every day. But you’re right, all too easily we take for granted the area we live in. Makes me want to take a tour around here and ‘visit’ my city again. πŸ™‚

    • I really believe can be helpful to act like a tourist in your own city once in a while. I think there’s a tendency in locals to be determined not to get excited about their city because it’s not cool. They’re meant to be above that, veterans of the place. Immovable.

  3. Isn’t it funny how we do that sometimes. I’ve had those moments when all of a sudden I see my surrounding through someone else’s eyes, or at the very least I think about it. I live right in the middle of California. On clear days after a rain, the Sierra Nevada mountains stand tall, clear and dusted in snow. It is absolutely breathtaking. Travel a few hours west and I am standing in the front yard of my sister’s vacation home, close enough to hear the sea. In the summer when we are enjoying the ocean mist we walk to a favorite beach where many tourist buses stop. Watching the people taking photos and enjoying the scenery always reminds me that we are standing in one of the most beautiful places in the world.

    We plan on traveling to England, Ireland, Scotland, and France in the summer of 2014. We can’t wait to see the beauty your country has to offer.

  4. Gorgeous photos! I can completely relate with how you feel about the tourists, and wondering what they’re seeing. I used to work in the tourist industry back home (originally from Hawaii), and I guess I became a bit complacent about what I saw around me. Now that I live thousands of miles away from home, I look back on the photos I took and realize how beautiful it was there, especially compared to my current location.

    • It’s the same way with everything. You look back at pictures of yourself and say “I wasn’t as fat as I thought I was!”. Haha. Hawaii has always been on my list of places I would love to see but flights are not exactly a bargain from here!

  5. Nice pictures! And great blog. Thanks for liking my newest post!

Leave a Reply

